Using olor herapy to alance hakras

Each chakra is associated with certain feelings. An overactive or underactive chakra creates different symptoms; physical and mental in nature. A well-balanced functioning chakra brings harmony and peace and allows for these challenging symptoms to dissipate. Each chakra also has a color that is associated with it. It appears in a person’s aura. These colors can be used to stimulate and bring balance. An open chakra is a goal, which allows for energy to flow freely and easily.

Root Chakra:

The first chakra is the Muladhara or root chakra. If the chakra is overactive, you may experience symptoms like paranoia, aggression, fear, or anxiety. If it is underactive, it could manifest as apathy, depression, lethargy, and an overall passive nature. The color associated with this chakra is red. If you are experiencing an overactive root chakra, you may not want to bring more red into your life. If you are underactive, it could be helpful to use color therapy. Plan to eat red beets, radishes, or red apples. You could put up red tapestries, wear red clothing, or use a red blanket. Another great tool is using visualization. As you are breathing in, visualize the color red coming in through the root chakra and coming back out again. For every chakra, color therapy can be used in this way.

Sacral Chakra:

The next chakra is the sacral chakra or Svadhishthana chakra. The color associated here is orange. The overactive sacral chakra could produce symptoms of greed, hypersexuality, and frustration. If the sacral chakra is underactive, it could manifest as disinterest, sexual repression, and depression. The sacral chakra is the center of emotion. 

Solar Plexus:

Moving up to the solar plexus or Manipura chakra, we find the color of yellow. It is the center of confidence! An overactive solar plexus chakra could manifest in dictatorship and bossiness while underactive chakra could appear as an inability to make decisions. 

Heart Chakra:

Then we move to the higher chakras, beginning with the heart or Anahata chakra. The color in the aura is the color green. This chakra can be open or close. If the heart chakra is open, then you may experience patience, kindness, and peace. If close, you may experience loneliness, neediness, and jealousy. It is the center of love and connection. 

Throat Chakra:

The next is Vishuddha chakra or throat chakra. The color associated with this energy center is blue. If it is overactive, it could manifest as negativity, gullibility, and talking a lot. If underactive, it could manifest as dishonesty, repressed voice, and confusion. It is the center of using your voice.

Eye Chakra:

The third eye or Ajna chakra is the next upper chakra. It is the color indigo in the aura. If this chakra is overactive, you could experience hallucinations and spaciness. If it is underactive, you may have a lack of imagination or be self-absorbed. It is the place of your intuition and connection to the divinity in others. It is an especially vital chakra to use visualizations, focusing intently on the third eye – the place between the eyebrows where the nose starts. 

Crown Chakra:

The last chakra is the crown chakra or Sahasrara. The color is violet or white. The goal here is again to open the chakra. It is your connection to source. You can imagine white light as you breathe in coming through your crown.

The colors around you can impact your aura. Use your external reality, including food, and use visualizations to give yourself therapy to target whichever chakra you feel needs most stimulation. As a yoga teacher, I select my color of yoga mat each class based on this principle, and I find the intention alone helps me a lot!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *